Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > OD Updates > Meet your new OD Union Committee

Meet your new OD Union Committee

The Committee for 2020 was elected last night at the AGM at the Mitre after online, proxy and ballot voting.

The OD Union would like to announce and say congratulations to the 12 candidates who were successfully elected onto the committee on Wednesday 4 March 2020 at the AGM. The 12 committee members are as follows and are in no particular order; 
  • Simon Koch (1977 S)
  • Lukhanyo Neer (2008B) 
  • David MacGregor (1979O)
  • Duncan Cruickshank (1985G)
  • Simon Burrow (1968F) 
  • Paul Burton (1984K) 
  • Graham Meyer (1983K) 
  • Wilbur Van Niekerk (1985K) 
  • James Sedgwick (1977F)
  • Gus Allen (1982F)
  • Sanjay Daya (1994G) 
  • Matthew Pearce (1987G)
The above were elected by the process set out in the constitution as recently amended (50% + 1 vote), and as per agreement at the AGM; in the event of there being less than 9 elected, (the minimum membership) the further candidates receiving the next highest votes, to reach a total of 12 committee members, be deemed to be co-opted.
Two scrutineers were elected on the evening with Brendan Jenman (1990B) and Mark Webber (1970S) taking on the role of supervising the vote count.  
Resolutions 26, 27 and 28 were passed which means David Carter (1958G) is the Union’s President, Mike Bosman (1978O) Vice-president and Guy Pearson has rightly been granted honorary membership to the Union. 
Thank you to all the nominees. The voting count was very close, and your participation will be most welcome in the various sub-committees and support functions of the committee.
The committee will elect its chairman in due course, so please do keep an eye on OD Connect and your newsletters. We are looking forward to a bright future filled with positive collaboration. The Committee will appreciate your support.

Similar stories

SGM - Letter from the OD Committee

11th July: A letter of response from the OD Committee to the call for an SGM More...

SGM10 Response to ODU Committee

25th July: The SGM10 wrote a letter of response to the OD Union Committee on the 25th July. More...

Letter from the Black ODs

12th July: Moshe Apleni (1997F) wrote on behalf of the Black Old Boys (BODs) More...

Most read

Robert Gray Medal 2021: Recipients

The OD Union would like to congratulate Anthony Record (1956S), John Gardener (1947G), Dr Robert Adam (1972F) and Bishop Geoff Davies (1959W) on… More...

The Butcher of Rosebank - Jon Abbott (1951S)

Jon's new book looks at the character of Dr Wynne Lieberthal, The Butcher of Rosebank. The 300-page describes the life of South African's worst-ever s… More...

ODU Annual Financial Statement: 2019

The ODU annual financial statements for 31 December 2019 have been finalised, audited and signed. More...

Have your say

This website is powered by