Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > OD Union Info > ODU Office News > Meet your new OD Union Committee

Meet your new OD Union Committee

The Committee for 2020 was elected last night at the AGM at the Mitre after online, proxy and ballot voting.

The OD Union would like to announce and say congratulations to the 12 candidates who were successfully elected onto the committee on Wednesday 4 March 2020 at the AGM. The 12 committee members are as follows and are in no particular order; 

  • Simon Koch (1977 S)
  • Lukhanyo Neer (2008B) 
  • David MacGregor (1979O)
  • Duncan Cruickshank (1985G)
  • Simon Burrow (1968F) 
  • Paul Burton (1984K) 
  • Graham Meyer (1983K) 
  • Wilbur Van Niekerk (1985K) 
  • James Sedgwick (1977F)
  • Gus Allen (1982F)
  • Sanjay Daya (1994G) 
  • Matthew Pearce (1987G)

The above were elected by the process set out in the constitution as recently amended (50% + 1 vote), and as per agreement at the AGM; in the event of there being less than 9 elected, (the minimum membership) the further candidates receiving the next highest votes, to reach a total of 12 committee members, be deemed to be co-opted.
Two scrutineers were elected on the evening with Brendan Jenman (1990B) and Mark Webber (1970S) taking on the role of supervising the vote count.  
Resolutions 26, 27 and 28 were passed which means David Carter (1958G) is the Union’s President, Mike Bosman (1978O) Vice-president and Guy Pearson has rightly been granted honorary membership to the Union. 
Thank you to all the nominees. The voting count was very close, and your participation will be most welcome in the various sub-committees and support functions of the committee.
The committee will elect its chairman in due course, so please do keep an eye on OD Connect and your newsletters. We are looking forward to a bright future filled with positive collaboration. The Committee will appreciate your support.

Similar stories

SGM - Letter from the OD Committee

11th July: A letter of response from the OD Committee to the call for an SGM More...

SGM10 Response to ODU Committee

25th July: The SGM10 wrote a letter of response to the OD Union Committee on the 25th July. More...

Letter from the Black ODs

12th July: Moshe Apleni (1997F) wrote on behalf of the Black Old Boys (BODs) More...

Hendri Immelman van Wyk (2004F) | 1986 - 2019

It is with great sadness that we inform the OD community of Hendri's passing last week Thursday. Our deepest condolences… More...

Most read

Mevrou Ina Fourie | 1937 – 2020

Mevrou Ina Fourie (1937 – 2020) passed away on Monday 21 December 2020, after a short fight against cancer in Strand Somerset West. More...

As SA looks starts its 2021 harvest it has up to 65% of its 2020 crop still sitting in tanks
Bruce Jack on the devastating human and industry cost of Covid-19

Bruce Jack (1987G) has written a deeply personal account featured on The Buyer, of what it has been like on the front lines of the wine industry duri… More...

ODs International Cross Country Team Storm to Their Best-Ever Finish

The 68th annual Thames Hare & Hounds Cross Country Alumni race was virtual this year but the results are real. More...

Have your say

This website is powered by