Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > Announcements > The next chapter for Gauteng

The next chapter for Gauteng

We want more of these!

On Saturday, October 14, 2023, a friendly gathering took place in Johannesburg. The Gauteng chapter of the ODU got together at the Old Johannian Club, nestled within the St. John's Club.

This venue holds significance for us, with strong connections to Bishops, as many OJs have also been ODs. It brings back memories.

Let's briefly reflect on the historical ties that bind us. Think back to Bishop Nash, who came to Bishops after being the Headmaster at St. John's from 1905 to 1907 and acted as Principal here in 1918. Fast forward to today, and we have Stuart West, who taught at Bishops for eighteen years and now leads St. John's. The connections between our schools run deep.

The OD Centre organized the event, featuring drinks and delicious canapes. A large screen allowed us to watch the World Cup, although, we later opted to go our separate ways to support the All-Blacks against Ireland.

The Gauteng ODs expressed a desire for more frequent gatherings, and we share that sentiment. We're keen to arrange more opportunities for our ODU family to come together, celebrate our shared heritage, and create lasting memories. So, stay tuned for more get-togethers in the future!

In the picture:

Back Left to R:  Zaheer Chothia (2007B); Saad Chothia (2004B); Jonathan Burnett (1995B); Andy Wills (2003M); Oli Wills (1997K); Dee Ferrandi (2011F); Martin Bey, ODU Chair (1990B), in front of Martin, Kennedy Jimba (1983S); Lukhanyo Neer (2008B); Warwick Smith-Chandler (1996S);  James Price (1995G); Alistair Collins (1987S) - Front: Warwick Jones (1962S); Thabang Kekana (2002S); Luthando Matsaluka (1992F); Arthus Mngkekeza (1997F); Kekaza Mhlauli (1989W); Paul Murray (Staff 1991 - & ODA).


Media gallery

To view this News Article

Similar stories

It is easier than you think. Here is how to do it in 5 easy steps. More...

Class of '77 represented at the Melbourne Ironman 70.3 this weekend More...

"Writhing and wailing, my head and eyes consumed by an agony I hope never to endure again, I knew I had to reach the ER … More...

Living with no regrets after surviving cancer. Mike shares his journey as part of our "Where are they now" series. More...

Renowned Urologist, Mike Bolus (1976F) writes about Male Health this Movember. More...

Most read

We bid farewell to Head Boy, diligent scholar and good all-rounder. More...

Last year just under 500 ODs completed an online questionnaire, answering questions about the future strategy of the ODU More...

Have your say

This website is powered by