Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > ODs in the News > Stephen Floyd (1972) - elected chairperson for TMNP Forum

Stephen Floyd (1972) - elected chairperson for TMNP Forum

Congratulations to Stephen Floyd (1972), the newly elected chairperson for the Table Mountain National Park Forum.


Table Mountain National Park (TMNP) takes pleasure in announcing the newly elected Park Forum office-bearers.

TMNP Park Manager, Frans van Rooyen said, “The office bearers were nominated two months after the Park Forum was established in June 2021, following several engagement processes with all the nominated candidates that were classified in three working committees comprising of Recreational Users & Previously Disadvantaged Groups as the first working group; Safety & Security and Partnerships as the second working group; and lastly the Maintenance and Permit system.”

The Park Forum team will serve a two-year term in office while the Park Forum management will serve on a six months rotational basis and this was part of the terms of reference that the teams agreed upon. TMNP will serve as a supportive structure to make sure the Forum meets on a quarterly basis to address and solve issues that affect the park.”

The newly elected TMNP Park Forum management includes the following members:

Elected Chairperson - Stephen Floyd, is a member of Rotary International and was a volunteer SANParks Honorary Ranger. He conducted several volunteer working programmes around the park.

“Given my extensive international work of coaching organizations, both private and state-owned, on how to improve their service, project delivery, hospitality, and commercial performance, I then considered how best to engage with SANParks to consider better ways of working and partnering with local community organizations. My project work with Rotary International further added to my view that a better Park, approaching SANParks aspiration of World Class, was worth some serious time and effort.”

Elected Vice-chairperson - Nicky Schmidt is the founder and Chairperson of voluntary NPO Parkscape. Parkscape is a community-environmental organisation with a strong focus on safety. Schmidt has been involved with Table Mountain National Park since 2006 and has a deep understanding of the Park’s formation and the inherent challenges of managing a national park in an urban setting.

“I joined the Park Forum because I believe we need to find effective solutions for multiple challenges and between diverse stakeholders, and I feel I can assist with that. My understanding of the Park, its founding intent, and my professional background in management, strategy, and marketing (local and international), enable me to come to the Park Forum with a problem resolution and big picture – nation-building - vision - and with a view to helping to create a world-class urban national park in Cape Town.”

Elected Secretary of Communications - Merinda Hill, is a well-rounded and experienced community worker that has made it her purpose to uplift disadvantaged and impoverished communities on the Cape Flats and surrounding areas by partnering with community-based organisations. She has held various senior leadership and management roles in international corporates and has a background in hospitality, events management, and project management. Merinda is a direct first nation descended who caught the attention of the Cochoqua Royal Family in 2018 whilst doing community work on the Cape Flats. She proved herself as a well-articulated diplomatic person and these attributes contributed to her final appointment as media liaison spokesperson for the tribe in their entire tribal kingdom area in September 2021.

“I have a deep appreciation for the biodiversity of the Western Cape and am passionate about the preservation of Table Mountain, sustainable youth development, reintroducing human values to reconnect our previously disadvantaged communities, and actively participate in bridging the deficit to bring about healing, resilience, and empowerment.”

The Park Forum members include the following working groups:

Previously Disadvantaged & Recreational Group:

Mpendulo Dlamini, Judian Bruk, Nicky Schmidt, Roscoe Jacobs, Gary Goldman, Vanessa Jooste, Clive Danster, Merinda Hill, Edgar Smit, Frank Dwyer, Fatima Sait, Ronnett Sheldon, Grace Adams.

Safety Security and Partners Group:

Andy Davies, Simon Metcalfe, Anwar Adams, John Masilo, Hein Aylward, Shaun MacDonald, Michael Wilcox.

Maintenance and Permits Group:

Gordon Chunnett, Stephen Floyd, Alanna Rebelo, Reena Cotton, Robert Breyer, Nkosinathi Man-O-Man Mazele, Lelethu Lolwana, Penelope Brown, Jürgen Burchelt, Blake Dyson, Francis Minicki, Princess Chantal Revell, Gregg Louw, Ashraf Orrie.


Issued by: Babalwa Dlangamandla: Public Relations Officer – Table Mountain National Park (TMNP) Tel: 021 712 0527 or email: [email protected]

Media Enquiries: Reynold “Rey” Thakhuli: SANParks GM: Media, PR & Stakeholder Relations, Cell: 073 373 4999 or email: [email protected]

Similar stories

Dean Smorenburg (2005B) is the founder of the Maltento farm which produces fly larvae that feed on food waste to produce fertilizer and protein that can be used for pet foods. More...

Congratulations to Stephen Floyd (1972), the newly elected chairperson for the Table Mountain National Park Forum. More...

Dugald MacDonald (2005S) and Pete Husemeyer (2005S) have developed ball-tracking technology to empower rugby officials t… More...

We were excited to see four of our ODs on the field playing for Western Province in the Currie Cup last weekend. More...

Renowned for his positivity, Michael Houlie (left) of Cape Town is shortly to swim for South Africa at the Tokyo Olympic… More...

Most read

Allan X. Chen (2011F)

Allan Chen, a passionate award-winning classical and film composer, is currently representing South Africa in the international WorldVision Composers … More...

Your input was consolidated into a large document which can be accessed here. More...

In December 2019 Cameron Bellamy (2000B), along with 5 other rowers, navigated their way through Drake Passage. Never has this been done before in a s… More...

Have your say

This website is powered by