Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > ODU Events > 2019 OD Dinner

2019 OD Dinner

Our annual Dinner was held at Kelvin Grove and our guest speaker, Prof Jansen, inspired ODs with a message of hope, determination and persistence. He was given a standing ovation. And rightly so.
Phumzile Moshe, Khakhaza Mhlauli and Brian Huna
Phumzile Moshe, Khakhaza Mhlauli and Brian Huna
An overcast and nippy Thursday evening at Kelvin Grove set the scene for the 2019 annual OD Dinner. 
7 nervous Bishops PR boys politely greeted the guests and handed them their name tags.
Much to the boys' delight, they found many familiar and renowned names which then turned into a fun game of who got to hand out the nametag to the famous guest. 
The guests trickled in much like the soft raindrops that Nicole Durand (ODU Administrator was cursing after spending an hour on her hair). The WomenUnite childrens' marimba band played beautiful music which added to the wonderful South African atmosphere. 

All was calm and merry until the guest speaker for the night, Professor Jonathan Jansen arrived on the scene. The PR boys jumped into a frenzy of panicked excitement and then scuffled over who got to greet him with his nametag. Eventually a truce was drawn and two boys got to do the honours. This was later mentioned in Prof Jansen's speach as the boys had clearly made a good impression!

Inside, Kelvin once again delivered an impeccable three course meal paired with Wolftrap wine donated in honour of Tim Rand (1969O). Brian Robertson (1979W) was the MC for the night along with Rev. Monwabisi Peter (School Chaplain) who said the Grace, ODU Patron Raymond Ackerman (1948S) who said the loyal toast and ODU Chairman, Adam Pike (1992O) who gave the reply and of course our guest speaker, Prof. Jansen. whose speech was a prophetic message of hope for South Africa and all its people.
He received a standing ovation after ending his speech with a piano performance. 

If you attended the dinner and would like to give us feedback on the event, please click HERE

The 2019 Dinner was the first year for donations to be made to the OD Bursary Fund using the new electronic ticketing system. 
We would like to thank everyone that donated to this as almost R20 000 was raised! 

We would like to thank the following for their assistance in making the evening an all-round success

The Kelvin Grove team
Raymond Ackerman (1948S)
Brian Robertson(1979W)
Adam Pike (1992O)
Guy Pearson (Principal)
Rev Monwabisi Peter (School Chaplain)
Richard MacMahon (2009O)
Peter Thacker (2018O)
Warwick Smith-Chandler (1975S)
Nicholas Basson (1987F)
Geoff Harvey (1990K) from Vinimark
Bruce Jack (1987G) & Xolani 
Thandi Swartbooi from WomenUnite
Nikki Matthews (Bishops Trust Administrator)
Arthur Mngxekeza (1997F))
The Bishops PR Boys & Warwick Richter (current staff)

Similar stories

11th July: A letter of response from the OD Committee to the call for an SGM More...

The Old Diocesan Magazine - Volume 2

It's out! The second edition of The Old Diocesan has just been released! More...

12th July: Moshe Apleni (1997F) wrote on behalf of the Black Old Boys (BODs) More...

25th July: The SGM10 wrote a letter of response to the OD Union Committee on the 25th July. More...

Most read

Your input was consolidated into a large document which can be accessed here. More...

In December 2019 Cameron Bellamy (2000B), along with 5 other rowers, navigated their way through Drake Passage. Never has this been done before in a s… More...

Dani, Jaryd, and Stu. Co-founders of WECAST after we won 2nd place at Microsoft Pitch night (NYC)

The entertainment industry is tailored for agencies to thrive. Jaryd Hermann (2012W) and Stuart Miller (2013S) identified this as a gap in the market … More...

Have your say

This website is powered by