Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > Congratulations and Awards > Congratulations to the Robert Gray Medal (Award) Winners 2023

Congratulations to the Robert Gray Medal (Award) Winners 2023

The Robert Gray Medal has been awarded by the College Selection Committee to three very deserving ODs
Professor Haroon Bhorat, Dr Greg Mills and Bishop Christopher Gregorowski
Professor Haroon Bhorat, Dr Greg Mills and Bishop Christopher Gregorowski

The awards ceremony will be taking place next year when full citations will be published by the College, but we would like to congratulate Professor Haroon Bhorat (1986/7G), Dr Greg Mills (1979/80O) and Bishop Christopher Gregorowski (1956/7G) following the announcement of the Robert Gray Medal (Awards) last Friday.

Professor Haroon Bhorat (1986/7G)

Haroon Bhorat is Professor of Economics and Director of the Development Policy Research Unit at the University of Cape Town. 

He served on the Presidential Economic Advisory Council (PEAC), established by President Ramaphosa to generate new ideas for economic growth, job creation and addressing poverty in South Africa. 

His work has been hugely influential in policy making in respect of poverty, inequality and labour market issues in South Africa.

 He has his PhD in Economics through Stellenbosch University, studied at the Massachusetts Institute of  Technology, and was a Cornell University research fellow. Prof. Bhorat’s commitments at UCT include lecturing Advanced Labour Economics (Hons), and supervision to Honours, Masters and PhD students.



Dr Greg Mills (1979/80,O)

Dr Greg Mills heads the Johannesburg-based Brenthurst Foundation.

He holds degrees from the Universities of Cape Town (BA Hons) and Lancaster (MA cum laude, and PhD), and was, first, the Director of Studies and then the National Director of the SA Institute of International Affairs from 1994-2005.

With Brenthurst he has directed numerous reform projects in African heads of government, including Rwanda (2007-8), Mozambique (2005-11), Swaziland (2010-11), Malawi (2012-14, and again 2020/1), Kenya (2012 and 2020), Lesotho (2008; 2019-20), Liberia (2006/7), Zambia (2010; 2016), Zimbabwe (2009-13), Ghana (2017), Ethiopia (2019-20), Nigeria (2017-18), and almost continuously at various levels of government in South Africa from the Foundation's outset.

His writings won him the Recht Malan Prize for Non-Fiction Work in South Africa.


Bishop Christopher Gregorowski (1956/7G)

Christopher Gregorowski worked for many years among the Xhosa people in Transkei, South Africa, as an Anglican priest where he wrote his well known book, Eagle, Fly.  Christopher was at that time the Bishop of Table Bay in South Africa.  His numerous writings reveal his enormous compassion for people and desire for a just society. 

He partnered with school friend, Anthony Record (1956/7S) and his wife Carole to start a foundation called Light From Africa Foundation (LFAF).  As a  Founding Board Member of the Light From Africa Foundation’s (LFAF), he worked very closely with Archbishop Tutu throughout his time as Archbishop of Cape Town from 1986 to 1996.

The LFAF's is involved in numerous community projects. They support and empower young people at risk by engaging them in various projects that will help build their self-esteem and resilience. They also work with Care Givers in at attempt to validate the selfless work they do and to assist them to identify and overcome empathy fatigue and burn out. Additionally, they  provide food support to economically marginalised communities by establishing sustainable community food gardens and  they provide school and adult based computer literacy programmes.



We applaud the work that all of these deserving gentlemen do and celebrate the award with them.

The award ceremony will be held during Founders Week.  At that time a comprehensive biography with full citations will be published by the College explaining in detail why they were awarded the medal. 

Similar stories

Bishops recognised as the top academic school in the province at the event hosted by Premier Alan Winde and MEC David Ma… More...

Vivienne Mallett celebrating her birthday.

Present at Vivienne's celebrations were her children and their families. More...

The Friends of Mostert’s Mill receiving the mayoral award from Mayor Geordin Hill-Lewis in December

Andy Selfe may well be South Africa’s foremost molinologist – an expert in the study and operation of mills More...

Bishop Steve Moreo invests Richard Cock and wife, Sue.

Richard Cock (1966O) with his wife Sue by his side, was admitted to the Order of Simon of Cyrene. More...

Most read

Read more about Blaine Tomlinson (1968G), recipient of this prestigious award, who was honoured last Friday, 3 May 2024, at a special College assembly… More...

Christopher Luyendijk departed this world leaving a legacy of empathy, fellowship, and an impressive artistic catalogue. He was only 34 years old. More...

Have your say

This website is powered by